Faria is new IKF Secretary General; Allen and Elewaut elected in Exco

The IKF General Meeting 20 August 2017 in The Hague (NED) elected  three new members in its Council:

  • Ms Joana FARIA (POR)
  • Mr Kevin ALLEN (ENG)
  • Mr Björn ELEWAUT (BEL)

Faria Fransoo Allen

Secretary General Faria, President Fransoo, and Exco Member  Allen after the election. Elewaut is not on this picture.

Joana Faria is the first IKF Council member from Portugal. She is also a member of the Executive Committee and will serve as the first female IKF Secretary General.

Kevin Allen is also a member of the Executive Committee. He will carry the responsibility for korfball development and the IKF’s rules and regulations.

Björn Elewaut, also a member of the Executive Committee, will become responsible for refereeing and the further development of the level of international referees, along with a special project focus on the development of IKF Europe.

Mr Graham Crafter (ENG) did not seek re-election following fourteen years of service to the IKF as Secretary General. He had been awarded the IKF Honorary Membership in 2015. Mr Frank Buvens ( BEL) also did not seek re-election after having served for fifteen years on the IKF Executive Committee. The General Meeting appointed him as Honorary Member of the federation.

IKF Secretary General Crafter and Exco Member Buvens retire after many years of service

After a long period of service on the IKF Council and Executive Committee two respected board members stepped down; Mr Graham Crafter (ENG) and Mr Frank Buvens (BEL).

Graham Crafter served the IKF as Secretary General for a period of 14 years.

Frank Buvens served the IKF as Exco and Council member – for competitions and refereeing – since November 2002, nearly 15 years.

Crafter Fransoo Buvens

Crafter, Fransoo, and Buvens (from left to right)

Both Crafter and Buvens have a long – over decades – history in korfball. Both were respected international referees in the past as well. Their contributions to korfball in their respective countries and in international korfball is huge. For their ongoing commitment and dedication to korfball both received distinctions in their countries as well. Crafter was appointed IKF Honorary Member by the General Meeting on 7 November 2015.

IKF President, Mr Jan Fransoo, proposed the General Meeting on 20 August 2017 in The Hague to appoint Buvens Honorary Member as well. With a big hand of applause the General Meeting voted unanimously in favor.

Fransoo took the opportunity to thank both IKF Council members with warm and well deserved words.

IKF General Meeting

The IKF General Meeting will take place Sunday 20 August 2017 in The Hague, The Netherlands.

The opening address by the IKF President, Dr Jan Fransoo, will be 9:00 AM (GMT + 1).

The venue is open for registration as of 8:15 AM.

IKF Congress

The IKF Congress will take place Saturday 19 August 2017 in The Hague, The Netherlands.

The IKF Congress will start 9:00 AM. The venue is open for registration as of 8:30 AM.

IKF Council accepts Suriname as Associate Member

The Council of the International Korfball Federation has today accepted Suriname as (Associate) Member of the International Korfball Federation. This implies the team of Suriname can participate tomorrow officially in the IKF Open European Beach Korfball Championship, due to start in The Hague.

A few final administrative matters still need to be resolved, but the Federation meets the criteria for admission based on the files submitted.


Photo credit: Surinaamse Korfbal Federatie

The application of Suriname is noteworthy. Korfball was played for many decades in Suriname during the time it was a Dutch colony, but after independence in 1975, formal korfball structures gradually disappeared in the Caribbean country in South America, and Suriname was expelled as member of the International Korfball Federation some years ago. However, korfball continued to be played in school without a formal federation taking care.

Following a recent initiative by former Dutch international player Gerald van Dijk. A group of players with Surinamese roots in the Netherlands revived the Federation, and formally established the Surinaamse Korfbal Federatie. The SKF plans to actively work on the development of korfball in Suriname, along with strong international competitive ambitions, as they intend to participate in next year’s IKF Panamerican Korfball Championship in Cali (Colombia) which serves as a qualification event for the 2019 IKF World Korfball Championship.

Referee Clinics and Workshops Chinese Taipei and Hong Kong

Mr Graham Crafter, IKF Secretary General and former Elite Referee for the IKF, conducted a two days Chinese Taipei Level B Referee Course on special invitation of Chinese Taipei Korfball Association. More than 20 candidates participated on 5 and 6 August. Mr Liu, a councelor of New Taipei City visited the Beach Korfball practical refereeing session in the Sunshine Sport and Recreation Part and expressed his interest and support to the future korfball activities in this city with the biggest population in Chinese Taipei.

After sharing his wide experience with referees from Chinese Taipei, Mr Crafter visited Hong Kong as special guest and chaired ongoing workshops on 9 and 11 August for the IKF appointed referees of the 2nd IKF Asia U19 & U16 Korfball4 Championships.

In the above mentioned referee educational events in Chinese Taipei and Hong Kong, the main focus was on the comparison among the rules of Korfball, Beach Korfball, Korfball4 (2 korfs) and 1-Zone Korfball (1 korf).

referee practical session combined with the training of TPE beach korfball squad on 6 August

Mr Jaap OUD passes away

The International Korfball Federation has been informed of the passing of Mr Jaap Oud, holder of the IKF Badge of Honour, on 4 August 2017 at the age of 80.

Jaap Oud served in the eighties and nineties of the twentieth century over more than a decade the Royal Dutch Korfball Federation (KNKV) as vice-president. When he stepped down in 1993 he was appointed KNKV Honorary Member.

After that period he became member of the first IKF Committee responsible for the set-up and organisation of korfball events in Europe. He served the IKF in that role for more than 13 years. In total he served the IKF for more than 20 years – since 1985 – on many occasions as jury member and IKF Coordinating Officer. In the General Meeting 21 January 2006 in Utrecht (NED)  Mr Jan Fransoo presented him with the Badge of Honour.

Jaap Oud was involved with korfball over many decades. He served his club, Groen Geel, the KNKV and the IKF – i.e. the korfball community – with great dedication and commitment.

For all his professional, volunteering and political activities he was knighted by the Dutch queen.

The IKF has lost a man with great commitment to education and development of national / international korfball. We send our sincere condolences to his wife, Jeanet, children and grandchildren.

World Games Korfball

The next World Games will be in Wroclaw (Poland) from 20 – 30 July 2017. This will be the 10th edition.

Korfball is part of the World Games program again. Korfball is scheduled in the first five days of the event; 21 – 25 July 2017. The first match is Friday 21 July 1330 PM (UTC/GMT + 1) in the WKK Sport Center; Chinese Taipei versus Germany.

The World Games Korfball event is the the major korfball event in 2017 for national teams.

Eight teams will compete to become the next World Games winner: Australia (AUS), Belgium (BEL), China (CHN), Great Britain (GBR), Germany (GER), The Netherlands (NED), Poland (POL) and Chinese Taipei (TPE).

The Netherlands is the reigning champion since the exciting final in Cali, Colombia in August 2013.